Historia #7

Este sábado fui a Valparaíso con mi amiga Paz. Estaba pensando arrancarme sola ese fin de semana para jugar a ser turista y tomar muchísimas fotografías pero justo me escribió y hace tiempo que no nos veíamos por lo que decidí invitarla a ser mi partner. Así, tal cual, improvisadamente, decidimos que nos veríamos ese día en el metro Pajaritos para partir nuestro viaje sin mayor planificación que esa.

Esa mañana me levanté muy temprano y recordé que no había salido a andar en mi moto desde el dieciocho de Septiembre, y también que la vez anterior que la dejé botada mucho tiempo se me descargó completamente la batería que tomó más de diez horas recargarla nuevamente. Por lo cual decidí levantarme pronto y salir a dar una vuelta antes de dirigirme al metro acordado para partir en bus.

Salí y recordé que mis espejos estaban medios sueltos -de verdad aun no entiendo cómo arreglarlos, ¡porfa si alguien sabe ayúdeme!- y que tendría que estar ajustándolos constantemente mientras manejara para poder ver los autos que iban detrás mío y me amenazaran. Pero arranqué de todas formas y salí a dar una vuelta.

La verdad es que cada vez me siento más segura en ella, sin embargo, tengo un gran problema que hace que no la saque tan seguido: siempre me pierdo y no cacho el sentido de las calles por lo cual al final termino en cualquier parte.

Di varias vueltas por ahí hasta que decidí devolverme para alcanzar a cambiarme e ir donde la Paz y cuando iba de vuelta, muy lento para estar andando en moto -a unos 50 kilómetros por hora- se me cruza un automóvil por delante -hasta ahí todo bien…- y frena de golpe. ¡De golpe poh! ¡Está bien que se cruce pero cómo **** frena de golpe en frente en una pista del medio! Freno de una, rompiendo lo que me enseñaron de frenar apretando y soltando el freno alternadamente -la forma más novata de enseñar de la vida pero que por ahora me funciona porque manejo lentito como una abuela jajajaja- y mi moto -que por cierto se llama Cutty Flam- suena iggg-iggggg-iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii…! Yo ya estaba esperando el «¡Pum!» del choque pero veo y… uff… estoy entera.

Mis manos tensas pero todo bien, logré parar a diez centímetros del automóvil que se me había cruzado y el de atrás también pudo detenerse sin chocarme.

Aunque nerviosa, entera, logré volver a mi casa y salir rápidamente a Pajaritos.

En el camino, en el metro, había un hombre tocando la guitarra, cantando y tocando una armónica que estaba pegada a esta, creo que con Scotch. Yo tengo una armónica pero no sé usarla. Así fue como al final del espectáculo musical de este artista del transporte público -que luego supe que se llamaba Marcos- me conseguí su número y le pedí que me enseñara. Accedió y nos íbamos a ver hoy, pero, por un percance, tuvimos que cambiarlo para la siguiente semana.

Cuando llegué y me encontré con la Paz nos dirigimos al terminal y el bus llegó a tiempo y pagamos directo. Luego, llegamos a Valpo y el clima estaba perfecto, soleado y sin frío ni calor.

En resumen, todo estaba saliendo bien. Paseamos un rato por las calles y por algunos coloridos puestos de artesanías pero pronto decidimos buscar un lugar para ir a almorzar, no obstante, estaba todo cerrado así que terminamos comiendo en un Subway, algo que puedes comer en cualquier ciudad aunque siempre muy rico. Y, una vez que terminamos nuestros sándwiches a los que les pusimos todo lo que pudimos, fuimos por un helado. Ahí fue cuando perdí mi chaqueta, creo que la dejé en la silla del Subway -¡y ahora que tengo frío mientras escribo la extraño mucho!-.

Salimos, con la intención de ir a la casa de Pablo Neruda pero no teníamos idea de donde quedaba ni cómo llegar. Nos dirigimos hacia la costa. Frente a unos botes todos con banderas chilenas, un hombre viejo, muy amable sin todos sus dientes y con un gorro reggaetonero nos enseñó una caseta de información para turistas donde nos conseguimos un mapa y nos explicaron la forma de arribar.

Caminamos buscando el paradero de la micro pero nos entró la duda en mitad de la calle y nos paramos a ver el mapa -¡en media calle!-, fue entonces que nos damos cuenta de que venía un camión y grité me acerqué a la Paz y luego atiné a cruzar rápido con ella.

La verdad es que igual me dio muchísima risa pues en vez de cruzar mi primera reacción fue pegarme a la Paz. Pero seguimos, encontramos el paradero y logramos subirnos, a la primera, en la micro correcta.

En el camino vimos muchísimas casas de colores y grafitis increíbles, que eran verdadero arte. La Paz me había contado de un grafitero chileno muy seco, que se hacía llamar Inti. Me dijo que en esta ciudad había una pared muy grande dibujada por él y que me la iba a mostrar.

Llegamos a la casa de Pablo y, honestamente, fue una experiencia muy buena. El tour está completamente recomendado. Cuando entras y pagas la entrada puedes dejar tus cosas en unos lockers y luego te pasan una especie de celular muy antiguo -pero no es un celular- y un mapa que te muestra los cinco pisos de la casa. En él aparecían los números que tenías que apretar en cada piso y te explicaba todo. Era genial, sobre todo ver a toda esa gente con esos «teléfonos» gigantes paseándose por las habitaciones y oír además pensamientos y frases de Neruda salir por ese curioso artefacto. ¿Cómo cuales por ejemplo? Como que «un coleccionista reservado no prospera» y que por eso si querías coleccionar timones o botellas o cualquier cosa era mejor que todos lo supieran, así todos te cuentan lo que ven y te traen regalos de cosas que coleccionas cuando viajan -not bad-.

Lo único malo del tour donde Pablo es que no te dejan tomar fotos, igual tratamos de tomar algunas ilegales -¡Uy, que malas!- pero no es lo mismo pues son fotografías que haces muy rápido para que el guardia no te pille así que no salen tan buenas como uno quisiera. Pero al menos nos tomamos una selfie muy colorida, y no en cualquier sitio sino nada más ni nada menos que en el baño del poeta.

Al finalizar el tour, decidimos bajar a pie, un poco para terminar de bajar el enorme almuerzo y también -y sobretodo- porque queríamos ver los grafitis y fotografiarlos. Vimos muchos, muchísimos y la mayoría eran muy buenos. Había también muchas casas que estaban en general muy pegadas, algunas muy lindas y coloridas y otras en muy mal estado. Creo que en Valparaíso se puede encontrar de todo.

Llegamos a una especie de mirador intermedio y tomamos algunas fotos, luego seguimos paseando y la paz me llevó a un ascensor o funicular. fue súper entretenido y me dio un poco de miedo que los cables parecían atados con alambre. Pero llegamos vivas. La Paz me dijo que eran sólo como los extremos que sobraban de los cables, no era que estuvieran atados de ahí pero igual me daba mucho nervio.

¡Más adelante llegamos al paseo Atkinson, un paseo cortito, pero muy lindo, con muchas casas de colores intensos, artesanos y desde donde se podía ver el famoso grafiti de Inti!

Era genial, ahí conocimos a un hombre que vendía caleidoscopios de madera. Los fabricaba él mismo. Tallaba rostros, mariposas u otros símbolos en ellos. También comerciaba unos muñecos que fabricaba la mamá de su hijo -¡Ojo! No su esposa o su mujer, la mamá de su hijo-.

Le pregunté cuanto salía uno y como buen comerciante me dijo que el que a mí me gustaba estaba a treinta pero que me lo dejaba en veinticinco. Le dije que le pagaba veinte y accedió. Me dijo que Valparaíso era un caleidoscopio, lleno de colores y figuras. Además me contó que no sólo hacía caleidoscopios sino otras artesanías de madera.

La Paz me mostró el grafiti del famoso chileno y luego fuimos a ver una iglesia que quedaba muy cerca. Le confesé a ella pecados inventados -pues obviamente yo soy un angelito- y nos fuimos a otra vista, muy ruidosa debido a los muchos camiones y barcos que había cerca. Era muy ruidoso pero la vista era diferente y maravillosa. El sol ya estaba cayendo, yo estaba sin mi cortaviento abrigador y el viento empezó a correr. Vimos la luna frente a nosotras y pronto decidimos que era hora de descender de nuevo por el funicular para partir.

Fuimos al terminal de buses, nuevamente encontramos un bus que partía enseguida y pudimos recapitular el día y revisar nuestras tomas durante el camino con la preciosa luna presenciando todo. ¡Fue un muy buen día!

———-

🙂 Aquí les dejo algunas fotos del paseo, no se olviden de comentar y compartir el blog si les gustó la historia y si quieren contarme su historia también pueden escribirme!

——————–

Last Saturday I went to Valparaíso with my friend Paz. I had been thinking of getting away by myself that weekend to play tourist and take lots of pictures, but then she wrote to me, and since it had been a while since we last saw each other, I invited her to be my travel partner. And just like that, improvising, we agreed to meet that day at Pajaritos subway station to go on our trip, with no further planning.

That morning I got up from bed quite early and remembered that I hadn’t taken a ride on my motorbike since September 18th and that the last time I had dropped it for a while the battery had completely run out and it took more than ten hours to recharge it. That is way I jumped out of bed and went for a ride before heading for the subway station that we had agreed on to take the bus.

Truth is, I’m growing ever more confident on it. However, I have this big problem that makes me not wanna go out that often: I always get lost and I don’t get the direction of the streets, which is why I always end up anywhere but where I intended.

As I went out, I remembered that the rear-view mirrors were kinda loose – and I still don’t know how to fix them, if anyone knows, please help!- and I would have to adjust them constantly while driving so as to see the cars behind me, threatening me. I took off anyway and went for a ride.

I wandered around until I decided to go back so I have the time to change and meet Paz, and as I was turning around, quite slow for a motorbike, at about 30 miles an hour, a car comes across the road – all good so far – but then he slams on the brakes, all of a sudden! He can cross over, that’s fine, but how the f*** does he stop the car right in the middle of the road! I hit the brakes, completely ignoring what I had been taught about clenching and loosing on the brakes alternately -which is the most amateur way of doing it and for now it works because I drive like a granny, lol- and my bike, which by the way is called Cutty Flam- goes screeeeeeeeetch. I was waiting for the BAM! of the crash, but I look up and…. Phew, I’m in one piece.

My hands were tight, but everything was okay. I managed to stop at like 4 inches from the car that had crossed in front of me, and the one behind me did as well, and we did not collide.

Although I was nervous, I managed to get home in one piece and quickly headed to Pajaritos.

On the way, in the subway, there was a man singing and playing the guitar and the harmonica, which I think was scotched to the first instrument. I have a harmonica but I don’t know how to play it. When this public transportation artist finished his musical interpretation – later I learnt that his name was Marcos- I got his number and asked him to teach me. He said yes and we were supposed to meet today, but because of a mishap, we had to postpone it for next week.

When I got there, I met Paz, we headed to the bus station, jumped in the bus and paid for the trip right there. Then, we arrived to Valpo, and the weather was perfect, it was sunny, and not hot nor cold.

So far, then, everything was going well. We strolled around through the streets and through some colorful craftwork stands, but soon we decided to look for a place to have lunch. However, everything was closed so we ended up eating at Subway, something that you can eat in every city and is always good. Once we finished our sandwiches- inside of which we had put everything that we could- we went to get ice cream. There, I lost my jacket, I think I left it hanging in the chair at Subway, and now that I’m writing this, I feel cold and I miss it!

We headed outside with the intention of going to Pablo Neruda’s house, but we had no idea where it was located or how to get there. We walked to the coast. In front of some boats, all decorated with Chilean flags, a nice old man, who was missing a few teeth and was wearing a reggaeton cap, pointed at an information cabin for tourists, where we got a map and instructions to get there.

We walked, looking for the bus stop, but we hesitated in the middle of the street and stopped, right there in the middle, when we saw that there was a truck coming, I shouted, reached out for Paz, and crossed the street very fast.
Actually, I laughed at the fact that instead of crossing the street as a first reaction, I seized my friend. We went on, found the bus stop, and got on the right bus at the first try.

On the way, we saw several colorful houses and incredible graffiti, which were true works of art. Paz had told me about a cool Chilean graffiti artist, who was called Inti. She told me that there was a big wall painted by him and that she would show it to me.

We arrived to Pablo Neruda’s house and honestly, it was a great experience. We totally recommend that tour. When you go in and pay for your ticket, you can leave your stuff in lockers, and then they give you a sort of very old mobile phone – but not a phone – and a map that shows the five-story house. In it, you could see which number you had to press on each floor and explained everything.

It was awesome, mostly seeing all those people with the giant “phones”, wandering around the rooms, and also hearing thoughts and quotations from Neruda come out of the funny artifact. For example? “A reserved collector does not prosper” and that is why it was better for everyone to know if you’re collecting helms or bottles or anything, so that everyone tells you what they see and bring you the things you collect as souvenirs from their trips – not bad-.

The only bad aspect of the tour was that pictures were not allowed, but even so, we did try to take some, illegally, – badass- but it’s still not the same because you have to take them pretty fast so that the guard doesn’t bust you, so they’re not as good as you’d want them. At least, we took a very colorful selfie, and not just anywhere, but in the bathroom of the poet itself.

At the end of the tour, we decided to walk down, partly because we wanted to finish digestion – the big lunch- but mostly because we wanted to see the graffiti and take pictures. We saw many, a lot, most of which were really good. There were also several houses that were quite close from one another, so pretty and colorful, as well as some others in a really bad condition. I think you can find everything in Valparaíso.

We got to this sort of balcony and we took some pictures, then we kept walking and Paz took me to the funicular. It was super fun, but I was kinda scared that the cables seemed to be tied up with wire. We made it alive. Paz told me that it was not like that, that only the tips were showing but that they were not tied up from there. Still, I was nervous.
Further on, we got to paseo Atkinson, a very short, yet beautiful corridor, with lots of bright-colored houses, artisans, and with a great sight of Inti’s graffiti.

It was awesome; we met a man that sold wooden kaleidoscopes. He made them himself. He carved faces, butterflies and other symbols in them. He also sold some puppets made by his son’s mother. Hey! Not his wife nor his girlfriend, but his son’s mother. I asked for the price of one of them, and as a good dealer, he told me that the one I liked was worth 30 thousand pesos, but that for me, it would be 25. I offered 20, and he said yes. He told me that Valparaíso was a kaleidoscope, full of colors and shapes. Also, he told me that he didn’t only make kaleidoscopes, but other wooden crafts.
Paz showed me the graffiti by the famous Chilean artist, and then we went to a church nearby. I confessed fake sins to her – because I’m obviously a little angel- and we left for a new sight, which was quite loud due to the many trucks and boats around. It was very loud, but that the view was different and wonderful. The sun was coming down, I had no coat and the wind started blowing. We watched the moon right before us and we soon decided that it was time to go down in the funicular and go home.

We went to the bus station, again found a bus that was just departing, and got the chance to sum up our trip and watch the pictures along the way, with the beautiful moon as our witness. What a great day!

———-

Here are some pictures of the trip. Don’t forget to comment and share the blog if you liked the story. If you want to share your own, feel free to write!

El primer grafiti que vimos.

The first graffiti we saw.

IMG_1552

Flores que vendían en la feria.

Flowers sold at the craft fair.

IMG_1595

Paseando por Valparaíso.

Walking through Valparaíso.

IMG_1609

Estos son los barcos con banderas chilenas. ¡Son muchas!

These are boats with Chilean flags. There are so many!

IMG_1641

¡Al fin llegamos a la casa de Pablo Neruda!

Finally, we arrived to Pablo Neruda’s home!

IMG_1671

No estaba enojada, lo prometo. Sólo era una pose jajajaja.

I was not angry, I promise. It was just a pose. Lol.

IMG_1677

La vista desde la casa de Pablo.

The view from the house of Pablo.

IMG_1692

La mejor selfie: en el baño de Neruda con la Paz (ella tiene la otra mitad tomada desde su teléfono).

The best selfie: At Neruda’s bath with Paz (she has the other picture taken from her phone).

IMG_1710

Otra vista desde su casa.

Another view from his home.

IMG_1724

Este es el cactus desde donde proviene la Tuna.

This is the cactus from which comes the Tuna (an American fruit).

IMG_1744

Grafitis en Valparaíso.

Graffiti in Valparaíso.

IMG_1785

IMG_1847

IMG_1851

IMG_1854

Vista desde abajo hacia arriba de la ciudad.

View from the bottom to the top of the city.

IMG_1787

El paseo Atkinson.

Paseo Atkinson.

IMG_1942

IMG_1965

IMG_1952

Los muñeros y los caleidoscopios del artesano del paseo.

Crochet plushies and kaleidoscopes manufactured by the artisan.

IMG_1971

¡El grafiti de Inti!

Inti graffiti!

IMG_1976

La luna ha llegado y el sol empieza a partir.

The moon has arrived and the sun begins to go.

IMG_2026

IMG_2035

El segundo funicular al que fuimos.

This is the second funicular we went.

IMG_2066

La preciosa luna que nos acompañó de regreso.

The beautiful moon that accompanied us back home.

IMG_2069

Deja un comentario